of Maine


Micah Blue Smaldone, Fight Club, and DFW

– In this week’s Phoenix, I review Micah Blue Smaldone’s new album, The Red River. I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to listen to a local album and not have to grade it on a curve. This gentleman is a massive talent.

– Continuing on the David Foster Wallace eulogy watch (because that’s all I care to pay attention to this week): a friend and colleague wrote a beautiful one for the Boston Phoenix; Benjamin Kunkel has another for n+1; the McSweeney’s thread continues to be a little bit heartbreaking; and the New Yorker has finally chimed in (and made a couple more stories of Wallace’s available).

– One surefire way to make me like Fight Club less: compare it to fucking Office Space. Can’t convey to you all how depressing it is to me that people enjoy that movie. It’s even more frustrating than the revisionist blather about The Big Lebowski being a Great Movie. I beseech anyone who likes Office Space to read this book and refer to it ad nauseum instead.

– Speaking of the Coen Bros, I saw Burn After Reading this past weekend, and I think I liked it. Maybe a lot, even. I’ll try to check it out one more time before I comment further.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to listen to a local album and not have to grade it on a curve.”

Dick…

Comment by cursillistas

j/k, brother, j/k.

Comment by cursillistas

Oh noes! Not you! Not you! He’s really good, guys. myspace.com/cursillistas for real.

Comment by ofmaine




Leave a Reply

